Street of Ten Friends

This former name for Victoria’s Main Street derives from the close association and leadership of prominent members of the┬ácolony of don Martin De Leon who established Victoria in 1824.These Ten Friends, who directed the defense, commerce, and general development of early Victoria were don Martin De Leon, Fernando De Leon, Valentin Garcia, Pedro Gallardo, Rafael Manchola, Leonardo Manso, J.M.J. Carvajal, Julian De La Garza, Placido Benavides, and Silvestre De Leon, the last two named were designated captains of the militia in case of attack by Native Americans.

Old Victoria Driving Tour Self-Guided Tour Map
Order a free Old Victoria Driving Tour self-guided tour map, or stop by the Explore Victoria Visitor Center to pick one up!