While the early history of this site is fascinating, the house’s prominence dates from the ownership of Frederick Cocke Proctor. In 1893 Proctor, a noted lawyer and son of David Cogswell Proctor, dramatically enlarged the existing structure. He and his wife, Lucy Wofford Proctor, owned the structure until 1907, at which time it was purchased by Preston Rose Austin. This structure’s exterior remains as it was redesigned in the early 1930s by the noted Houston architect John F. Staub for Mary Traylor Austin Vandenberge. Stunningly restored in recent years, it is one of the architectural masterpieces of Victoria. NR-1986; RTHL-1971.