Brownson School

Built on land donated by the widow of banker John M. Brownson (1836-1906) in 1910, this nicely detailed building cost a mere $12,000 to construct. It is referred to in school board minutes as being a “free public school.” It was occupied on January 20, 1911 by grades one, two, and three. A bronze plaque memorializing Brownson was cast by noted sculptor Pompeo Coppini and hangs over the main entrance. NR-1986.

Old Victoria Driving Tour Self-Guided Tour Map
Order a free Old Victoria Driving Tour self-guided tour map, or stop by the Explore Victoria Visitor Center to pick one up!